20 March 2007

Niue signs the PIASA

The Fiji Daily Post reported on 19 March 2007 that Niue has signed the Pacific Islands Air Services Agreement (PIASA). The PIASA needs six countries to ratify it before it comes into force. So far it has been ratified by the Cook Islands, Nauru, Samoa and Tonga. Along with Niue, Kiribati, Papua New Guinea, the Solomon Islands, Tuvalu and Vanuatu have signed but have yet to ratify the treaty.

I attended the negotiation of this agreement in Fiji and Tonga.

No comments: